Dog Writers Association of America Launches 2020 Writing Competition

By: PRLog

The time-honored tradition continues with 71 awards and over $11,000 in cash prizes

NEW YORK - July 21, 2020 - PRLog -- It's the most wonderful time of the dog writing year! The Dog Writers Association of America 2020 Writing Competition is now accepting entries.

Founded in 1935, the Dog Writers Association of America recently launched its annual writing competition. The competition is open to all writers, editors, publishers, photographers, bloggers, artists and others whose work falls into the designated competition categories. Entrants compete in a variety of categories for the coveted Maxwell Medallions, named for dog writing legend Maxwell Riddle.

In addition to the regular categories, participants are encouraged to compete for over $11,000 in special awards and cash prizes. The deadline to submit entries is September 6, 2020.

"Now more than ever, dogs and the people who write and create content about them are incredibly important and helping us maneuver the 'new normal,'" said DWAA President Carol Bryant. "The annual writing competition will not be affected by the pandemic."

This year's special awards lineup includes:

-       AKC Club Publication Excellence Award - $500

-       AKC Reunite Microchip Awareness Award - $1,000

-       AKC Responsible Dog Ownership Public Service Award - $500

-       The AKC Family Dog Award - $500

-       The Canine Scribbles Award - $350

-       The Captain William Judy Award - $350

-       Dogster Health & Wellness Award - $500

-       DOGTV Canine Enrichment Award - $500

-       Fidose of Reality Dog Blogger Award - $300

-       Dr. Harvey's Canine Health Award - $500

-       DWAA Junior Writer Award – Amount TBD

-       Fear Free Dog Enrichment Award - $2,000

-       The Grey Muzzle Award - $500

-       The Harrison Stephens Inspirational Feature Award - $300

-       James Colasanti, Jr. Poetry Award - $200

-       The Manette Begin-Loudon Memorial Award - $300

-       The PSI Professional Pet Care Award - $300

-       The Rio Award - $300

-       The Sleepypod Pet Safety Award - $500

-       The Walter R. Fletcher Memorial Award - $500

-       Dogwise Best Book Award - $500

-       DWAA Distinguished Service Award - $1,000

Finalists will be announced in early December on social media. On Sunday, February 14, 2021, DWAA will host an online virtual event to announce the winners.

For more information, to enter the competition, and join DWAA, visit:

About DWAA

The Dog Writers Association of America is the most recognized professional writing association devoted to dogs. Founded in 1935, the DWAA has grown from eight founders to over 500 members, including journalists, authors, bloggers, publicists, photographers, illustrators and media personalities. For more information, visit:

Media Contact
Carol Bryant, President

Photos: (Click photo to enlarge)

Dog Writers Association of America Logo DWAA Welcomes New and Established Dog Writers DWAA Officers with Media Celebrity, Jill Rappaport DWAA President Carol Bryant with VP Maggie Marton Writer Amy Tokic with Board Member Laurie Williams Writer Larry Kay With Author Anne Serling

Read Full Story - Dog Writers Association of America Launches 2020 Writing Competition | More news from this source

Press release distribution by PRLog

Data & News supplied by
Stock quotes supplied by Barchart
Quotes delayed at least 20 minutes.
By accessing this page, you agree to the following
Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.